I think it’s pretty safe to say that everyone (mostly) is familiar with this bible verse

(don’t worry, it’s not actually crooked, just the awkward twisting result of trying to take a picture of the back of my own neck and not being able to get far enough away from myself)

I love this verse. Obviously, otherwise I wouldn’t have permanently placed it on my body. But like many verses people like to quote, few people read the rest of it.

1 “Judge not, that you be not judged. 2 For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. 3Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? 4Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? 5You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.  (Matthew 7:1-5 ESV)

Lots of people just like to look at the beginning and say that you shouldn’t judge others. Period. But take a better look at this. This is talking about being blind to your own faults and hypocrisy, judging others for their faults or sins when you have the same or worse (a log vs a speck) in yourself. And how often do we do this? “Cough, cough…not me, never”. Exactly, we all do this, a lot. But of all the things that we do, this is one of my largest peeves.

I know I am no better than anyone else out there, and I am happy to have that knowledge. I am far from perfect, and I work really hard to not judge others action or make assumptions about the way they act. Maybe it’s more noticeable to me than it would be to some because my husband is often the embodiment of this warning here (I love him, just being honest). He goes on angry rants on a regular basis and there are so many time when I want to say “YOU are judging them about that? Hello. Pot meet kettle.” but I bite my tongue because it’s not really going to do any good at the time, and I can just hope that he will catch on once he calms down. Of course it’s the people who have the faults that we hate about ourselves most that really get under our skin, and we want to ignore it in ourself and fix them instead. But that never works out so well.

Think of it like the funky masks on the airplanes. You put the mask on yourself before you try and help someone else. You are useless to others if you haven’t dealt with your own problem first.

I decided about three years ago that I wanted this tattoo. This is a reminder to me of how I wish to be/ not be. I don’t want to be the pot.  I want to remember to fix myself first. I want my husband or friends to call me on it if I’m pointing out the “speck” in someone else’s eye and being blind to the “log” in my own. And I want to be held to the same standards of judgement that I hold anyone else to.

Did that jibba jabba make any sense to anyone but me?

Anyone find it funny that the non-Christian has a bible verse tattooed to her neck? Christian or not, just try and tell me that it’s not right.

