I always said that I wasn’t afraid of heights, just of falling. I have always loved climbing up, but then there is that pesky getting down portion. I hate having to go back down. I get dizzy just going down stairs. Can’t you just go up forever and eventually it will get you back to where you started?

When I was reading this post, the part about leg exercises, note that I can get sidetracked very easily, it reminded me of the days when I was little. A little kids I mean, I know dwarves (whats the politically correct term “little people”? frig, I’ve never been politically correct in my life, I’m not intentionally offensive) taller than me. Really, I went to Jr. High with the guy.

So, when I was a kid I used to stand on the arm of the couch and just fall back (on to the couch). Arms out, up, by my side, didn’t matter. I used to fall back  and just feel the butterflies in my stomach and the air wooshing by me, then that fun bounce at the end when you hit. I would do that over and over again. I’m sure many of you did this a bunch too (or at least I think it’s a normal childhood activity).

I don’t think I’ve ever fallen off anything unintentionally, so where did this fear of falling come from? When did I stop thinking that falling was anything but butterflies in my stomach? Maybe it was when the trampoline came in and I discovered (yes as a child) my bad back. It’s actually hurt to jump on that stupid thing. But have you even been on a flying fox? Ok, I don’t know what it would have been called where you were, but all it was was a super long cord attached a long ways away and you are harnessed to the little glidey-do-hickey and off you go, flying through the air. It’s wonderful. Of course the only one I know of is at a kids camp and I no longer have access there.

I  think what I would really love to do is to find a good high climbing wall, get up to the top, and just let go. Of course I’d warn the dude at the other end of my rope to be fair, but it always looks so much fun on tv.

