I was having a great day today…and an off day…but at least I found my random anger funny.

I actually got a day off today. My definition of a day off is the once every three weeks when my hubby is off work and he takes Monster and I go into town and visit my friends, shop, or even just hide in the basement and play x-box or warcraft. But I haven’t had my day off in the last…3 sets of days off because hubby keeps working his days off. I can’t complain, he’s out making the bucks to pay that mortgage, but I was REALLY looking forward to today because of it.

So I make myself extra pretty today (aka, I showered and did my hair and left the house in the non jogging pant variety), and I drove the hour in to meet Nik at second cup, got our festive (decaf) coffee’s and proceeded to wander aimlessly around the mall. I was determined to find a new pair of jeans d/t only having one pair right now (wore the ass/ knee and button right out of my other pair).  I’ve been having really good luck shopping this week with my MIL so I wasn’t my normal grumpy about shopping self. I was super excited to see Nik, to be on my day off, and to have my fake coffee in hand. Buuuuut, when shopping for jeans, in winter, in big ass boots that must be undone for each changing set, taking pants off over and over that are too FRIGGIN tight…it gets old fast. 

So, this is me today

 I feel pretty today, look at my hair so shiny and nice. YAY coffee (must convince self it is real coffee). Stupid pants FAWK! oooo nice shirt, it fits! 50% off! stupid FAWKin boots. Look at that hangover (belly) FAWK. I look great in this top. oh these pants look nice…can’t get them over my FAWKin thighs. nice nice FAWK nice happy pretty FAWK! PUPPY!!!!!!!!!! (at this point I’m now in pet land)

I always go into pet store and look at kittens and ferrets and whatever else is there and am not swayed by the animals behind glass. But there she is. The sweetest, most darling, farthest from what I ever imagined I wanted in a dog. Little few pound havanese x yorkie (aka havashire, lol, sounds like an offer), and I just fell in love. How much? well after tax and food and stuff about $1500. Insane right? I called hubby. “I have a problem…I’m at petland…I’m in love with a puppy and she’s wonderful and non-allergenic and tiny and great with kids and other animals (we have three cats along with our billion new fish) and I want her soooooooo bad but she costs a million dollars and I just love her!!!!!”. My hubby didn’t freak out like I thought he would, just shocked.

To give a little more background, we had a puppy a couple years ago but only for 2 days because it turned out to have parvo (we thought she was just having a bad adjustment period at first), so it’s not like we didn’t want another dog in the future. And when we got that one, it was my hubby saying “I just found and dog and I want to go look at it now but I really think it’s the one I want and we’ve got to go now!”. So I’m not the only freak here.

After talking to him and talking more to the staff and talking to him again he was pretty much accepting that I was about to pay a million dollars for a dog I wasn’t intending on getting an hour before and I was so close to walking out there with the sweetest girl you ever saw, but then I thought…”get you’re mother to call me”. So he tracked her down in Manitoba and had her call me. I explained everything and asked for an unbiased dog lovers opinion. She had paid a million dollars for her yorkie a few years ago and I wanted to know if she would do it all again and if there was anything I hadn’t thought of. Well there was. I was thinking “is this dog going to be ok with Monster” but not “is Monster going to be ok with this dog”. She made me realize that this is too fragile a dog to have with a just 3 yr old and that if it was a year from now, she’d say go for it. But not yet.

So I didn’t get her and I’m still longing after the only puppy I’ve ever loved at first sight. But the last thing I want is to have a little puppy get hurt because she got hugged too hard by a kid that doesn’t get it.

Now it goes to….FAWK!, puppy 😦  , I’m relieved that I didn’t spend a million dollars 🙂 , maybe I should got back and get her still, FAWK, I’m hungry, these jeans look great, and they fit! FAWKin boots, puppy 😦 , spaghetti!

Hubby later on: “you know mom thinks you want a puppy so much now because everyone else is having babies”

me: “ya think?” (feel the sarcasm)

